First SA squads for Tokyo Olympics announced

First South African Olympics team named - Tifosi Sports

First SA squads for Tokyo Olympics announced

The Summer Olympic Games is just more than a month away, and the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) has announced the first squads to take part in the sporting spectacle in Japan from 23 July to 8 August. The Summer Paralympic Games will take place from 24 August to 5 September.

A virtual announcement named representatives across seven sporting codes, including surfing and climbing, which make their Olympic debuts in the competition this year. The other codes that were announced are athletics, cycling, gymnastics, hockey (men and women) and sailing.

Team SA members have also started receiving COVID-19 vaccinations ahead of the event in order to ensure the safety of the participants.

Some big names were notably absent, but were still completing qualifying events in order to take part in the Games. Further squad announcements are expected as the Olympic Games draw nearer, and are expected to include participants who are yet to qualify. This includes Caster Semenya and Wayde van Niekerk (athletics) and Jordy Smith (surfing).

Another recent Olympics qualifier is 15-year-old Northern Cape skateboarding sensation, Boipelo Awuah, who may become the youngest-ever South African Olympian if she is named as part of the squad. Should Awuah, who won her first national competition at age 9, be chosen, she will also be part of the first group of skateboarders to take part in the Olympic Games.

“It means so much to me because I’m from Northern Cape and the female skates out here aren’t at the level of other countries but I’m very proud to be representing South Africa or Africa as a whole at the Tokyo Olympic Games,” she told SABC News.

Team SA returned from the previous summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro with 10 medals – four more than the six that were won in London in 2012.

Take a look at the squads that have already been announced below.


Akani Simbine, Clarence Munyai, Antonio Alkana, Cheswill Johnson, Ruswahl Samaai, Rocco van Rooyen, Jason van Rooyen, Stephen Mokoka, Desmond Mokgobu, Elroy Gelant, Wayne Snyman, Men’s 4X100m Relay and Men’s 4X400m Relay (The athletes are still to be determined by Athletics South Africa), Wenda Nel, Dominique Scott, Gerda Steyn and Irvette van Zyl


Erin Sterkenburg and Chris Cosser

James Barnes


Johan Spies, Charlene du Preez, David Maree, Daryl Impey, Ryan Gibbons, Nicholas Dlamini, Ashleigh Pasio-Moolman, Carla Oberholzer, Alan Hatherly, Candice Lill and Alex Limberg

Team Officials

Elton Davids (Team Manager and BMX Coach)
Ian Goetham (Road Coach)
Moosa Classen (Track Mechanic)
Jean-Pierre Jacobs (Mountain Bike Manager Coach and Mechanic)
Carl Pasio (Road Coach)
Brigette Mileson (Track Coach Manager)
Gary Blem (Road Mechanic)


Caitlin Rooskrantz


Ilse Laing (Roets)


Quanita Bobbs, Erin Christie, Lisa Deetlefs, Lilian Du Plessis, Nicole Erasmus, Tarryn Glasby, Robyn Johnson, Charne Maddocks, Lerato Mahole, Phumelela Mbande, Edith Molikoe, Kristen Paton, Tarryn Potts, Celia Seerane, Nomnikelo Veto and Onthatile Zulu

Coaches and Management

Gillian Doig (Manager), Robin Van Ginkel (Head Coach), Nkuliso Zondi (Assistant Coach) and Taren Naidoo (Video Analyst)

Erasmus Pieterse, Timothy Drummond, Austin Smith, Mohamed Mea, Matthew Guise-Brown, Jethro Eustice, Nduduzo Lembethe, Taine Paton, Nicholas Spooner, Clinton Panther, Samkelo Mvimbi, Abdud Cassiem, Mustaphaa Cassiem, Nqobile Ntuli, Keenan Horne and Tevin Kok

Coaches and Management

Martin van Staden (Manager), Garreth Ewing (Head Coach), Siphesihle Ntuli (Assistant Coach) and Ashlin Freddy.


Alex Burger and Benjamin Daniel


Asenathi Jim


Bianca Buitendag


Gregory Emslie

Share this post